FOX 184 – in the shops now! Stan Collymore Interview…

Issue No 184 of The FOX – is in all good newsagents now and on sale at tonight’s game against Charlton…

cover copy low res

FOX 184, with Chris Wood on the cover, features: an interview with Stan Collymore looking at his short but eventful City career;  Something Old, Something New; Fully Programmed from 1974-75; Fox Diary – which starts badly and then gets much better; the latest from the Foxes Trust; Tales From the Riverbank; Rewind – the last time we got promoted to the top flight; the Chris Lymn Column; John Hutchinson looks through the 1930s box in the Leicester City archives; Fox-Photos; Farming Foxes – You Must Have Come on a Tractor; your letters and Bentley’s Roof; Parting Shots – our favourite photos from the last month; and Fanatical Frank beats the blizzard….

all for £2…

 

Stan Collymore Interview Extract…

stan and marshall 640

FOX: What were your first impressions of Leicester when you first turned up for training?

SC: Well that’s interesting because the first person I bumped in to when I walked in to the canteen was Ian Marshall and he was reading a paper and he barely looked up and just grunted when I said hello and I thought aye, aye my reputation is preceding me here and this is going to be difficult. I imagine a lot of the players had thought what’s he gonna be like, we’ve heard a lot about him, is he gonna be a bit ‘big time’ and I knew there was a bit of scepticism around at the time. But I knew Robbie Savage from his Crewe days so I didn’t feel like a complete stranger. My first training session was on a Friday morning and Steve Walford came out with a bag of balls and said “Right, f**king hurry up lads, you can have a five-a-side and then I want to get down the pub!” and I had just come from Liverpool and Aston Villa where training was very regimented but this was unbelievable, everybody was laughing and it really was fun. I started looking forward to training but don’t get me wrong, it was organised and sometimes hard work but you could see that Leicester players at the time were enjoying it and genuinely looking forward to coming in every day.

TP-LINK logo blog

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

