FOX 182 – in the shops now! Richard Smith Interview…

Issue No 182 of The FOX – is in all good newsagents now…

FOX 182, with Anthony Knockaert on the cover, features: an interview with Leicester born and bred Richard Smith; new feature Something Old, Something New; Fully Programmed from 1983-84 – the abandoned Southampton game; Fox Diary – the winningest set of match reports since 1993; the latest from the Foxes Trust; Tales From the Riverbank; Rewind – Tony James models the new Fox Leisure strip; the Chris Lymn Column; Twenty Years of the Leicester badge; John Hutchinson looks through the 1960s box in the Leicester City archives; Farewell to Sam Holmes; Fox-Photos; Chris Watson reports on the Washout in Warsaw; your letters and Bentley’s Roof; Parting Shots; and FortySomething meets his daughter’s new boyfriend… oh dear.

All for £2…

Richard Smith Interview Extract…

FOX: Brian Little came in at the start of the 1991-92 season and he went on to give you an established place in the side. Did you get the feeling that he believed in you and was going to give you a chance?
RS: I think the way Brian set up his team suited me personally as a player. He liked his centre-halves and think we sometimes had about five on the pitch by the end of certain games. I was more to the right side and it suited how I was playing at the time. He also liked my long throw-ins. I think it’s fair to say that we were quite direct at that time. We had a bit of flair, with people like Steve Thompson, Steve Agnew but generally we were quite direct.
Apart from my style of play being right for him he liked the fact that I was Leicester born and bred as well. He said to me a few times that he liked the fact I was a Leicester lad and I had a good rapport with people around the club.
If he brought new players in and they were maybe lagging around in training he knew that I wouldn’t accept it and would get them fired up a bit in training.
That is MY club and you will do your best. Walshy was the same having been here for such a long time. We kind of used that as a weapon to say , you’ve not come to this club for a bit of a breather.
I used to train like I played, which a lot of them didn’t like. I would go in for tackles that I probably shouldn’t have in training.
FOX: Brian wanted everyone to live in Leicester as well..
RS: That’s right, he wanted as little travelling as possible and also for them to feel closer to the club.
He made a lot of changes, and just about all of them for the better I think.
FOX: Which senior pros looked after you when you were coming through the ranks?
RS: I remember Russell Osman being at the club and I used to watch him training because he was a centre-half. He used to go out with no socks on, just his boots, with these massive calves all oiled up and he’d be strolling about. He was a good footballer, quite a cultured player. I had a few conversations with him and he was always prepared to spend some time talking to you after training. That stood out for me because he was a bit of a star and he wasn’t at Leicester for long but he was always willing to help out the youngsters.

…to subscribe to The FOX for the 2012-13 season via Paypal and receive your Summer Special, free set of City postcards, and issue no 181 & 182 by return of post, press this blue button… 

Alternatively you could print off and fill in this form…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

