City Swoop for Dutch Superstar

Well okay yes, it was in 1981 and it didn’t happen, but just imagine if it had…

From The Sun:
Johan Cruyff is today set for a sensational move to First Division Strugglers Leicester City.
The Dutch Master has lined up a deal worth £4,000 a game for 11 matches – and if everything works out, he will make his debut against reigning European Champions Nottingham Forest on Saturday.
Last night jubilant Leicester boss Jock Wallace insisted: “Johan and I have already agreed terms.He has one or two problems to sort out, but I am very hopeful he will join us on Thursday.”
Cruyff is considering th emove for two reasons. He must play competitive football to make his international comeback for Holland, and he wants to try out the English First Division before deciding on a one-year contract with Arsenal next season.
The one barrier to Leicester’s transfer scoop lies with Spanish Second Division side Levante, who coul dmake a late final bid.
They have had month long talks with Cruyff, but last night the Dutchman indicated they are now too late, though Leicester’s activity could produce one last eleventh hour effort.
Cruyff, who last played for Holland in 1977, wants to return against France in a World Cup qualifier on March 25.
To be eligible he must first be playing in a national soccer league.
Because Levante have wasted so much time Cruyff looks like he may plump for England, though by doing so he would lose £75,000 on any agreement with the Spanish club.
He told me: “I still like the idea of Spain, because th eclimate suits me and my family.”
“But I cannot wait any longer for Levante. I want a guarantee from them and we have been nogotiating for a month but every day they tell me a new story.”
Wallace added: “I would like to think that part of Johan’s interest is down to our personal friendship. I have known him since 1973 when he scored a fabulous goal for Ajax against Rangers when I was at Ibrox in the first European Super Cup.”
“The negotiations have been going on by telephone over the past three to four weeks and now I think I have my man. He would teach my kids so much and be a great advert for Leicester City.”

Cruyff moved to Levante – where he made ten appearances and scored two goals…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

